Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Hawaii Supreme Court Justices

Note: Please do not call a justice about a pending case.  In most circumstances, a justice is prohibited from discussing a pending case unless all parties are given notice and an opportunity to be present. Justices are also prohibited from publicly discussing a pending or impending case.  See Rules 2.9 and 2.10 of the Hawaii Revised Code of Judicial Conduct.

The Supreme Court is composed of a Chief Justice and four Associate Justices. Justices are nominated by the Governor from a list of not less than four and not more than six names submitted by the Judicial Selection Commission. A justice’s nomination is subject to confirmation by the State Senate. Each justice is initially appointed for a ten year term. To be considered for appointment, a person must be a resident and a citizen of the state and of the United States and licensed to practice law by the Supreme Court of Hawai`i for not less than ten years preceding their nomination. After initial appointment, the Judicial Selection Commission determines whether a justice will be retained in office. A justice may not serve past age 70. See Article VI § 3 & 4 of the Hawai`i Constitution.

The members of the Supreme Court are:

Name Title Phone Number Term
Mark E. Recktenwald Chief Justice (808) 539-4700 09/14/2020 – 09/13/2030
Sabrina S. McKenna Associate Justice (808) 539-4735 03/03/2021 – 03/02/2031
Todd W. Eddins Associate Justice (808) 539-4715 12/11/2020 – 12/10/2030
Lisa M. Ginoza Associate Justice (808) 539-4725 01/12/2024 – 01/11/2034
Vladimir P. Devens Associate Justice (808) 539-4720
01/12/2024 – 01/11/2034