Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Judicial Selection Commission

Archive of Current and Past Members of Judicial Selection


JSC Archives

The Judicial Selection Commission reviews and evaluates applications for all judicial vacancies, and vote, by secret ballot, to select qualified nominees. Established by a 1978 state constitutional amendment, the Commission is governed by the Judicial Selection Commission Rules (157 KB PDF file).

The names of the nominees are then forwarded to the appropriate appointing authority. The governor is the appointing authority to nominate judges of the Supreme Court, Intermediate Court of Appeals, and Circuit Court for an initial ten-year term. The governor selects appointees from a list of not less than four and not more than six names submitted by the Judicial Selection Commission. The commission submits a list of at least six names to the chief justice who nominates judges for district and district family court to six-year terms. All nominations are subject to confirmation by the state senate.

The Commission also determines whether a justice or judge shall be retained in office. The Commission publicizes the fact that a justice or judge is seeking retention so that all persons who might have an interest in the matter be informed of the opportunity to comment.

Comments about justices and judges seeking appointment or retention should be submitted to:

Contact Information:

Judicial Selection Commission
417 South King Street
Honolulu, Hawai`i 96813-2902
Telephone: (808) 538-5200
Fax: (808) 538-5205

The Commission is composed of nine members, no more than four of whom may be lawyers. The members, who serve staggered six-year terms, are selected or elected as follows:

Member Term Appointing/Electing Authority
Jeffrey S. Portnoy, Vice Chair 04/02/21 – 08/02/24 Bar
Dawn P.N. Mahi 04/02/19 – 04/01/25 Governor 
Francine Dudoit-Tagupa  09/09/20 – 04/01/26 Senate President
Kamani B. Kualaʻau, Chair 04/02/21 – 04/01/27 House Speaker
David McEwan, Secretary 04/02/21 – 04/01/27 Governor
Sylvia Yuen 04/02/22 – 04/01/28 Chief Justice
Edmund D. Acoba 04/02/23 – 04/01/29  Senate President
Florence T. Nakakuni 04/02/23 – 04/01/29 House Speaker
Simeon R. Acoba, Jr. 06/07/23 – 06/06/29 Bar


Press Release Notices and Announcements

    JSC Request for Public Comments

  • There are no JSC Request for Public Comments at this time.