Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Water has been restored and the Kapolei Courthouse will reopen tomorrow, May 24. Read more here.

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release – District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit Nominees (Release Date: 02/18/2022)

Posted on Feb 18, 2022 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission, Uncategorized

Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The chief justice, with the consent of the senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial office of District Judge of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi.  The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of District Judge Michael K. Tanigawa in May 2021.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy for the judicial office of District Judge of the First Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

  • Russ S. Awakuni
  • Harvey M. Demetrakopoulos
  • Timothy E. Ho
  • Dyan K. Mitsuyama
  • John Alberto Montalbano
  • Steven R. Nichols
  • Shellie K. Park-Hoapili
  • Rochelle I. Vidinha (Cusumano)

The Chief Justice has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


  • Total Applicants:  29; 14 Females; 15 Males
  • Government Attorneys:  12
  • Private Attorneys:  14
  • Per Diem Judges:  7
  • Other Occupation:  3
  • Age Range:  1 (31-40); 14 (41-50); 14 (51-60); 0 (61-70)
  • Years Licensed Range:  11 years to 34 years

**Meetings held and decisions made in February 2022 with 9 Commissioners present

3 Applicants withdrew before meeting with the Judicial Selection Commission and are not included in the statistics above

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.