Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Malinao, Morikone, and Park Sworn-In

Posted on Dec 17, 2021 in Featured News, News & Reports
From left: Judge Clarissa Y. Malinao, Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald, Judge Shanlyn A.S. Park, and Judge Kevin T. Morikone stand together in front of the Hawaii Supreme Court bench, 12/16/2021.

Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald (second from left) congratulates First Circuit Court judges Clarissa Y. Malinao, Shanlyn A.S. Park, and Kevin T. Morikone at their swearing-in ceremony. Each will serve 10-year terms, from December 16, 2021 to December 15, 2031.

The Hawaii State Supreme Court convened in special session for the swearing-in of Clarissa Y. Malinao, Kevin T. Morikone, and Shanlyn A.S. Park as judges of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit (Oahu).

The December 16 ceremony was livestreamed on the Judiciary’s YouTube channel. A limited number of family, friends, and colleagues gathered in the Supreme Court Courtroom, where strict health-and-safety measures were required for attendees.

Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald presided over the virtual ceremony and administered the oaths of office. Guest speakers were: Hawaii State Bar Association President Levi K. Hookano; Hawaii State Trial Judges Association President Judge Summer M. M. Kupau-Odo; Judicial Selection Commission Chair Nadine Y. Ando; Hawaii State Representative Della Au Belatti; Senate President Ronald D. Kouchi; and Gov. David Y. Ige.