Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release District Court of the First Circuit Nominees

Posted on May 3, 2016 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission

For immediate release: May 3, 2016


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The chief justice, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial office of District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi. The judicial office became vacant upon the elevation of former District Judge Shirley M. Kawamura [Shimizu] to the position of Circuit Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy is as follows, in alphabetical order:

  • Brian A. Costa
  • Timothy E. Ho
  • Ronald G. Johnson
  • James S. Kawashima
  • Trish K. Morikawa
  • Rowena A. Somerville

The Chief Justice has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


  • Total Applicants: 31; Females: 9; Males: 22
  • Government Attorneys: 16
  • Private Attorneys: 14
  • Per Diem Judges: 9
  • Age Range: (31-40): 4; (41-50): 11; (51-60): 11; (61-70): 5
  • Years Licensed Range: 11 years to 36 years

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission’s mailing list, provide your name and contact information and send request to

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.