Skip to Content

Hawaii Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism

The Commission is charged with enhancing professionalism among Hawaii’s lawyers.  “Professionalism” includes competence, civility, legal ethics, integrity, and commitment to the rule of law, to justice, and to the public good.

The Chair of the Commission is the Chief Justice or the Chief Justice’s designee.  In addition to the Chair, the Commission is comprised of nineteen members appointed by the Chief Justice, including four state trial court judges, two state appellate justices or judges, one federal judge, four practicing lawyers, one faculty member from the University of Hawai`i William S. Richardson School of Law, four representatives of attorney regulatory agencies, and three non-lawyer public members.

The Commission on Professionalism (“Commission”) was established in 2005 by Chief Justice Ronald T.Y. Moon.

Commission Projects (2005-present)

Annual Reports (in PDF format): 2011 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006