Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Chief Justice Seeks Public Comment on Judicial Nominees

Posted on Nov 23, 2011 in Press Releases

Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald announced today that he is seeking written comment on judicial nominees for one vacancy at the District Court of the Second Circuit (county of Maui), that occurred upon the appointment of the Honorable Rhonda I.L. Loo to the Circuit Court of the Second Circuit on June 9, 2011.

The names submitted for this vacancy by the Judicial Selection Commission, in alphabetical order, are:

Mimi DesJardins
Michelle L. Drewyer
Adrianne H. Heely
Adriel C.S. Menor
Richard A. Priest, Jr.
Douglas J. Sameshima

Since the Chief Justice has the discretion to assign judges to the district or district family court calendar, comments about the qualifications and character of any of the nominees with regard to either calendar assignment may be sent, in writing, to:

Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald
Supreme Court of Hawai`i
417 S. King Street
Honolulu, HI  96813
Fax:  808-539-4703

WRITTEN comments must be post-marked, emailed, faxed, or hand delivered no later than TUESDAY, DECEMBER 6, 2011.

The individual selected by the Chief Justice is subject to Senate confirmation.

For more information, contact the Communications and Community Relations Office at 808-539-4909 or via email at

Subscribe to the Hawai'i State Judiciary mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.