Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Chief Justice Seeks Written Comments on Judicial Nominees

Posted on Jul 15, 2010 in Press Releases

Chief Justice Ronald T. Y. Moon announced today that he is seeking public comment on judicial nominees for one vacancy at the District Court of the Second Circuit (island of Maui).  The vacancy occurred upon the expiration of the term of Judge Simone Polak on May 27, 2010.

The names submitted for this vacancy by the Judicial Selection Commission, in alphabetical order, are:

Mimi DesJardins
Michelle L. Drewyer
Tracy A. Jones
Blaine J. Kobayashi
Adriel C.S. Menor
Kimberly A.B. Sloper

Inasmuch as the Chief Justice has the discretion to assign judges to the district or district family court calendar, any comments about the qualifications and character of any of the nominees with regard to both calendar assignments may be sent, in writing, to:

The Honorable Ronald T. Y. Moon
Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Hawaii
417 S. King Street
Honolulu, HI  96813
Fax: 539-4703

WRITTEN comments should be submitted in ONE of the following methods:  (1) mail; (2) email; (3) fax; or (4) hand delivery, and must be submitted no later than THURSDAY, JULY 29, 2010.  ALL COMMENTS WILL BE CONFIDENTIAL.

The individual selected by the Chief Justice for the vacancy is subject to Senate confirmation.

For more information, contact the Communications and Community Relations Office at 808-539-4909 or via email at

Subscribe to the Hawai'i State Judiciary mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.