Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Chief Justice Seeks Written Comments on Judicial Nominees

Posted on Jun 24, 2008 in Press Releases

Chief Justice Ronald T. Y. Moon announced today that he is seeking public comment on judicial nominees for the vacancy in the District Court of the Second Circuit (island of Maui). The vacancy will occur upon the retirement of the Honorable Douglas Ige on June 27, 2008. The names submitted by the Judicial Selection Commission, in alphabetical order, are:

Mimi DesJardins
Michelle Drewyer
Mark Honda
Tracy Ann Jones
Kelsey Kawano
Robert Rivera

Anyone who would like to comment about the character and qualifications of any of the nominees before the Chief Justice makes his selection should mail, fax, or deliver their written comments to:

Chief Justice Ronald T. Y. Moon
Supreme Court of Hawai`i
417 S. King Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Fax: 539-4703

WRITTEN comments must be post-marked, faxed, or delivered no later than MONDAY, JULY 7, 2008. Comments may be delivered to the Supreme Court Clerk’s Office at 417 S. King Street (the building directly behind the Kamehameha statue, first floor). ALL COMMENTS WILL BE CONFIDENTIAL.

The individual selected by the Chief Justice for the vacancy is subject to Senate confirmation.


Contact: Marsha Kitagawa, 539-4909

For more information, contact the Communications and Community Relations Office at 808-539-4909 or via email at

Subscribe to the Hawai'i State Judiciary mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.