Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Hilo Self-Help Center Volunteers Recognized

Posted on Jun 18, 2013 in Featured News

Thirty-nine attorneys who volunteer at the Third Circuit’s Self-Help Center in the Hilo courthouse were recognized for their service at a Hawaii County Bar Association (HCBA) luncheon held June 14 at the Hilo Yacht Club.

Volunteer attorneys staff the Center for an hour and a half twice a week, assisting unrepresented parties at no charge. More than 500 individuals have been helped at the Center since its official opening on June 29, 2012.

The volunteers were recognized by Hawaii Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald, Third Circuit Chief Judge Ronald Ibarra; State Representative Clifton Tsuji; Geraldine Hasegawa, Hawaii State Bar Association (HSBA) East Hawaii Director; Chris Schlueter, HCBA president; and HCBA volunteer program coordinators Darien Nagata and Jen Zelko.

“On behalf of the Judiciary, I want to thank each of our volunteers for their service,” said Chief Justice Recktenwald. “We are off to a great start, but we need to keep that momentum going. I encourage you to continue to volunteer and make Hilo’s self-help center a shining example of our profession’s commitment to increasing access to justice.”

The Chief Justice also thanked the HCBA, the HSBA, the Legal Aid Society of Hawaii, and judiciary staff and judges for their support of the Center.


Hilo Self-Help Center Volunteers Photograph

(Left to Right) Katherine Garson, Darien Ching Nagata, Judge Ronald Ibarra, Judge Greg Nakamura, Paul Hamano, Jill Raznov,
Louis Mendonca, Lincoln Ashida, Rep. Clifton Tsuji, Bill Heflin, Michael Moore, Chris Bridges, Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald,
Tharrington Trusdell, Chris Schlueter, Jennifer Zelko, Michelle Oishi and Mason Yamaki.