Skip to Content

All Second Circuit Courts--throughout Maui County--will be closed today, December 6, 2021, due to impacts from the storm.

Click for additional information

 

Court Interpreter Applicants Wanted for Orientation Workshop; Deadline Extended

Posted on Jan 26, 2012 in Featured News

Applications are now being accepted for the next state court interpreter orientation workshop to be held on each of the major islands in February and March. Due to high demand, a second Oahu session has been added in March. The workshop registration deadline has been extended until February 15, 2012. The Kona Workshop has been cancelled.

The workshop registration fee is $85.  A grant from the Hawaii Women’s Legal Foundation and Hawaii Friends of Justice and Civic Education is being used to lower the cost from the original $120 fee. Completion of the two-day workshop is one of the mandatory requirements of becoming a court interpreter for the Hawaii State Judiciary.

The two-day orientation workshop will be held on:

Oahu on Saturday, February 18 and Sunday, February 19, 2012;  (Filled)
Oahu on Saturday, March 24 and Sunday, March 25, 2012; (Newly Added Session)
Kona on Wednesday, February 22 and Thursday, February 23, 2012; (Cancelled)
Maui on Tuesday, February 28 and Wednesday, February 29, 2012;
Kauai on Thursday, March 8 and Friday, March 9, 2012;
and Hilo on Thursday, March 15 and Friday, March 16, 2012.

Application forms are available on the Judiciary’s website and from the Office on Equality and Access to the Courts at 539-4860.

Certified sign language interpreters are also encouraged to apply.

In addition to successfully completing the orientation workshop, persons seeking to become a state court interpreter must pass a written English proficiency exam, a court interpreter ethics exam, and clear a criminal background check.

Court interpreters work on a freelance basis as independent contractors in criminal and certain civil cases when parties or witnesses are unable to hear, understand, speak or use English sufficiently. Depending on their performance on written and oral exams, court interpreters are paid between $25 to $55 per hour with a two-hour minimum.