Skip to Content

Important: JIMS/JEFS Downtime

Judiciary systems including JEFS, eCourt Kokua, and Document Drop-off will be unavailable due to maintenance work beginning midnight Friday, September 23, to noon, Sunday, September 25. If work is completed sooner, systems may be restored earlier. Applications, including eReminder, eJuror, and eTraffic will not be affected. Thank you for your patience and understanding.


Somerville, Viola, Wong, and Hall Sworn In

Posted on Dec 22, 2017 in News & Reports, Press Releases

HONOLULU — It was standing room only as family, friends, and colleagues gathered in the Supreme Court courtroom on December 20, 2017, as Rowena A. Somerville, Matthew J. Viola, and Paul B.K. Wong were sworn in as judges of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit, and Jessi L.K. Hall was sworn in as a judge of the District Family Court of the First Circuit.

Gov. David Y. Ige administered the oath of office to Somerville, Viola, and Wong. Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald administered the oath of office to Hall.

In addition to Gov. Ige, guest speakers were Hawaii State Bar Association President Nadine Y. Ando, Hawaii State Trial Judges Association President James H. Ashford, Judicial Selection Commission Chair Dr. Jackie Young, and Senate President Ronald D. Kouchi.

Judges Somerville, Viola, and Wong will each serve 10-year terms and Judge Hall will serve a six-year term.

For more information, contact the Communications and Community Relations Office at 808-539-4909 or via email at

Subscribe to the Hawai'i State Judiciary mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.