Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Costa, Lendio Heim, and Morikawa Sworn In

Posted on Jun 2, 2017 in Featured News, News & Reports
Photograph of Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald being photographed with new judges Darolyn Lendio Heim, Brian Costa and Trish Morikawa.

Hawaii’s new First Circuit (Oahu) District Court judges Darolyn Lendio Heim (left), Brian Costa, and Trish Morikawa celebrate after being sworn in by Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald (second from left) on June 2, 2017.

Family, friends, colleagues, and supporters overflowed from the Supreme Court courtroom on Friday, June 2, 2017, as Brian Costa, Darolyn Lendio Heim, and Trish Morikawa were sworn in as judges for Hawaii’s First Circuit (Oahu) District Court.

The oath of office was administered by Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald. Guest speakers were Hawaii State Bar Association President Nadine Y. Ando, Hawaii State Trial Judges Association President Jeannette H. Castagnetti, Judicial Selection Commission Chair Dr. Jackie Young, Vice-Speaker of the House of Representatives Della Au Belatti, and Senate President Ronald D. Kouchi.

Judges Lendio Heim and Morikawa are serving six-year terms through May 2, 2023. Judge Costa’s six-year term will run June 2, 2017 to June 1, 2023.