Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release – District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit Nominees

Posted on May 18, 2018 in JSC Press Releases


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaii, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The chief justice, with the consent of the senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial vacancy of District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit (island of Oahu), State of Hawaii. The judicial office has been vacant since the elevation of former District Judge Paul B. K. Wong to the position of Circuit Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit in December 2017.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy for the judicial office of District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

  • Michelle N. Comeau
  • Timothy E. Ho
  • Ronald G. Johnson
  • Summer M. M. Kupau-Odo
  • Kristine Yoo (Nakamatsu)
  • Bryant G. F. Y. Zane

The Chief Justice has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


  • Total Applicants: 31; 9 Females; 22 Males
  • Government Attorneys: 16
  • Private Attorneys: 12
  • Per Diem Judges: 6
  • Other: 2
  • Age Range: 6 (31-40); 10 (41-50); 11 (51-60); 4 (61-70)
  • Years Licensed Range: 7 years to 38 years