Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release – Circuit Judge, Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of O’ahu), State of Hawai’i Nominees (Release Date: 05/03/2024)

Posted on May 3, 2024 in JSC Press Releases, JSC Vacancy, Judicial Selection Commission

For immediate release:  May 3, 2024

Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The governor, with the consent of the senate, shall fill a vacancy in the office of the chief justice, supreme court, intermediate appellate court and circuit courts, by appointing a person from a list of not less than four, and not more than six, nominees for the vacancy, presented to the governor by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial vacancy of Circuit Judge, Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi.  The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of Circuit Judge Edward H. Kubo, Jr. in December 2019.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy for the judicial office of Circuit Judge in the Circuit Court of the First Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

  • Lance D. Collins
  • Brian A. Costa
  • Harvey M. Demetrakopoulos
  • Dyan M. Medeiros
  • Steven R. Nichols

The Governor has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment



  • Total Applicants: 24; 7 Females; 17 Males
  • First Time Applicants: 4


  • Government Attorneys: 10
  • Private Attorneys: 7
  • Judges: 5
  • Per Diem Judges: 1
  • Other: 2


  • Age Range: 1 (31-40); 9 (41-50); 7 (51-60); 7 (61-70)


  • Years Licensed Range: 13 years to 39 years

Additional Information

  • Vacancy was advertised in October 2019 for a total of 90 days. Meetings held in October 2020 but list was not delivered.
  • Vacancy re-advertised in October 2023 for a total of 180 days.
  • Meetings held in April and May 2024 and decision made in May 2024 with 9 Commissioners present.

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.