Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release – District Judge, District Court of the Third Circuit Nominees (Release Date: 09/13/2021)

Posted on Sep 13, 2021 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission

Under the Constitution of the State of Hawai`i, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The chief justice, with the consent of the senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial office of District Judge, District Court of the Third Circuit (island of Hawai`i), State of Hawai`i.  The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of District Judge Margaret K. Masunaga in November 2020.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy for the judicial office of District Judge of the District Court of the Third Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

  • Mark D. Disher
  • Brandon K. Flores
  •  Stephen L. Frye
  • Haʻaheoikanaauaoonakeikimaikaiamekaponookaainaolanai Kahoʻohalahala
  • Charles E. Murray, III
  • Kimberly B. M. Taniyama

The Chief Justice has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


  • Total Applicants:  8; 3 Females; 5 Males
  • Government Attorneys:  6
  • Private Attorneys:  1
  • Per Diem Judges:  2
  • Other Occupation:  1
  • Age Range:  3 (31-40); 4 (41-50); 1 (51-60); 0 (61-70)
  • Years Licensed Range:  6 years to 25 years

0 (zero) Applicants withdrew before meeting with the Judicial Selection Commission.


For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.