Skip to Content

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release – Circuit Judge, Circuit Court of the Third Circuit Nominees (Release Date: 07/31/2017)

Posted on Jul 31, 2017 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The governor, with the consent of the senate, shall fill a vacancy in the office of the chief justice, supreme court, intermediate appellate court and circuit courts, by appointing a person from a list of not less than four, and not more than six, nominees for the vacancy, presented to the governor by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial vacancy of Circuit Judge, Circuit Court of the Third Circuit (island of Hawaiʻi), State of Hawaiʻi. The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of Circuit Judge Ronald Ibarra in June 2017.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy for the judicial office in the Circuit Court of the Third Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

  • Gregory A. Ferren
  • Robert D. S. Kim
  • Michael H. Schlueter
  • Kimberly B. M. Taniyama

The Governor has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.

Total Applicants: 6; 2 Females; 4 Males

  • Government Attorneys: 2
  • Private Attorneys: 4
  • Judges: 0
  • Age Range: 1 (31-40); 2 (41-50); 1 (51-60); 2 (61-70)
  • Years Licensed Range: 11 years to 34 years

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.