Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release – District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit Nominees (Release Date: 02/14/2017)

Posted on Feb 14, 2017 in JSC Press Releases, JSC Vacancy, Judicial Selection Commission

For immediate release:  February 14, 2017

Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The chief justice, with the consent of the senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial vacancy of District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit (island of Oʻahu), State of Hawaiʻi.  The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of District Judge Barbara P. Richardson in December 2016.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy for the judicial office in the District Court of the First Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

  • Brian A. Costa
  • Jeffrey A. Hawk
  • Craig W. Jerome
  • Tana K. Kekina-Cabaniero
  • Trish K. Morikawa
  • Kevin T. Morikone 

The Chief Justice has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


Total Applicants:  46; 12 Females; 34 Males
Government Attorneys:  22
Private Attorneys:  24
Per Diem Judges:  8
Age Range:  3 (31-40); 16 (41-50); 20 (51-60); 7 (61-70)
Years Licensed Range:  9 years to 38 years

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.