Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Press Release Announcement – Hawaii Supreme Court Associate Justice Nominees

Posted on Jan 27, 2014 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission

For immediate release: January 27, 2014


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Section 3: “The Governor, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the office of the chief justice, supreme court, intermediate court and circuit courts, by appointing a person from a list of not less than four, and not more than six, nominees for the vacancy, presented to the Governor by the Judicial Selection Commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce the list of nominees for the impending vacancy in the judicial office of the Associate Justice, Supreme Court, State of Hawaiʻi upon the mandatory retirement of Associate Justice Simeon R. Acoba, Jr. in March 2014.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the judicial office of the Associate Justice, Supreme Court, State of Hawaiʻi is, in alphabetical order:

  • Derrick H. M. Chan
  • Jeffrey P. Crabtree
  • Craig H. Nakamura
  • Richard K. Perkins
  • John M. Tonaki
  • Michael D. Wilson


  • Total Applicants: 16 – Females: 2; Males: 14
  • Government Attorneys: 3
  • Private Attorneys: 5
  • Judges: 9
  • Age Range: (41-50) 3; (51-60) 8; (61-70) 5
  • Years Licensed Range: 14 years to 35 years

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission’s mailing list, send your request to and provide your name and business.

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.