Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

District Judge, District Court of the Second Circuit Nominees

Posted on Sep 16, 2013 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission

For Immediate Release: September 16, 2013


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Section 3: “The Chief Justice, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the Judicial Selection Commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce the judicial nominees for the vacancy in the judicial office of District Judge, District Court of the Second Circuit (islands of Maui, Molokaʻi, Lanaʻi, Kahoʻolawe and Molokini), State of Hawaiʻi. The judicial office has been vacant since the resignation of former District Judge Mimi DesJardins.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy is as follows, in alphabetical order:

  • Brian A. Costa
  • Michelle L. Drewyer
  • Gregory J. Garneau
  • Kirstin M. Hamman
  • Georgia A. K. McMillen
  • Lloyd A. Poelman

Chief Justice Recktenwald has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


  • Total Applicants: 11; Female: 5; Male: 6
  • Government Attorneys: 4
  • Private Attorneys: 7
  • Per Diem Judges: 2
  • Age Range: (31-40) 2; (41-50) 3; (51-50) 6
  • Years Licensed Range: 9.5 years to 25 years

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission’s mailing list, please provide your name and business to

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.