Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit Nominees

Posted on Jun 13, 2013 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission

For immediate release: Thursday, June 13, 2013


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Section 3: “The Chief Justice, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the Judicial Commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce the judicial nominees for the vacancy in the judicial office of District Judge, District Court of the First Circuit, State of Hawaiʻi (island of Oʻahu). The judicial office has been vacant by former District Judge Dean E. Ochiai who was appointed as Circuit Judge of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit.

The judicial nominees selected by the Commission to fill the vacancy are as follows, in alphabetical order:

  • James H. Ashford
  • Brian A. Costa
  • William M. Domingo
  • Todd W. Eddins
  • Ronette M. Kawakami
  • James S. Kawashima
  • Linda S. Martell

Chief Justice Recktenwald has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


  • Total Applicants: 27, 8 Females and 19 Males
  • Government Attorneys: 11
  • Private Attorneys: 14
  • Per Diem Judges: 6
  • Age Range: (31-40) 3; (41-50) 7; (51-60) 13; (61-70) 4
  • Years Licensed Range: 12-35 years

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission’s mailing list for email notification of press releases, provide your name and business and send you request to

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.