Skip to Main Nav Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Content

Press Release Announcement – District Judge, Second Circuit Court Nominees

Posted on Nov 23, 2011 in JSC Press Releases, Judicial Selection Commission

For Immediate Release: November 23, 2011


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaiʻi, Article VI, Section 3: “The Chief Justice, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the Judicial Selection Commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce the list of nominees for the District Court Judge of the Second Circuit, State of Hawaiʻi (Maui, Molokaʻi , and Lanaʻi). That office has been vacant since the elevation of former District Court Judge Rhonda Lai Loo to the position of Circuit Court Judge of the Second Circuit.

The list of nominees selected by the Commission to fill the District Court vacancy is as follows, in alphabetical order:

  • Mimi DesJardins
  • Michelle L. Drewyer
  • Adrianne H. Heely
  • Adriel S.C. Menor
  • Richard A. Priest, Jr.
  • Douglas J. Sameshima

Chief Justice Recktenwald has 30 days from his receipt of the list to make his appointment.

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission’s mailing list for email notification of press releases send, send request to and provide your name and business.

For more information, visit the Judicial Selection Commission webpage or contact the Commission via email at

Subscribe to the Judicial Selection Commission mailing list for email notification of press releases and other announcements.