


    
 

 
 

 
 

  
  

 

  

     
 

       
   

    
 

  

  
 

   
      

   
    

 
 

   

By order of the Chief Justice: This 
office shall NOT give legal advice 
to private parties or draft legal 
documents for them. 

Anyone requiring such services 
should consult an attorney licensed 
to practice in Hawaii. 

WHERE IS THE REGULAR CLAIMS 
DIVISION OF THE DISTRICT COURT 
OF THE SECOND CIRCUIT LOCATED? 

The Regular Claims Division is located at the 
Service Center on the First Floor of Hoapili Hale, 
2145 Main Street, Room 141A, Wailuku. Molokai 
and Lanai handle their own. 

WHAT ARE THE SERVICE COUNTER 
HOURS? 

8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.—Monday through Friday. 

WHAT IS THE REGULAR CLAIMS 
DIVISION? 

It is a division of the district court in which 
certain types of legal claims between parties 
are decided by a judge in a just, speedy, and 
inexpensive manner in a proceeding known as 
a “civil action”. The various types of claims are: 
assumpsit; damages; tort; summary possession; 
replevin; and other statutory proceedings as 
conferred by law upon the district courts. 

WHAT IS THE JURISDICTION OF THE 
REGULAR CLAIMS DIVISION? 

The Regular Claims Division has jurisdiction 
of all civil actions in which the debt, damages, 
or value of property claimed does not exceed 
$40,000 (4/17/14), except in civil actions involving 
summary possession or ejectment. 

The Regular Claims Division hears and 
determines all actions without a jury, subject 
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to appeal according to law. Whenever a civil 
matter is triable of right before a jury and trial by 
jury is demanded in the manner and within the 
time provided by the rules of court, the case is 
transferred to the circuit court. The action may be 
commenced in the circuit court if the amount in 
controversy exceeds $5,000. 

The court also has jurisdiction in all statutory 
proceedings conferred by law upon district courts. 

The district court does NOT have jurisdiction 
over real actions, actions in which the title to 
real estate comes in question, actions for libel, 
slander, defamation of character, malicious 
prosecution, false imprisonment, breach of 
promise of marriage, or seduction, and has no 
power to appoint referees in any cause. 

WHO CAN I SEE FOR ASSISTANCE 
ON PREPARING A COMPLAINT AND 
SUMMONS? 

Consult with the Service Center staff if you 
have any questions about filing procedures. The 
Service Center will furnish the necessary forms 
to initiate a civil action and provide information 
as to its preparation. The clerks, however, are 
not permitted by law to provide legal advice 
relating to the preparation of your document. 

WHERE MUST THE CLAIM BE FILED? 
A. The State of Hawaii is divided into four 

judicial circuits as follows: 
1) First judicial circuit (Oahu, District of 

Kalawao in Molokai, and all islands not 
included in other circuits); 

2) Second judicial circuit (Maui, Molokai, 
Lanai, Kahoolawe, and Molokini); 

3) Third judicial circuit (Hawaii); 
4) Fifth judicial circuit (Kauai, Niihau, and 

Kaula). 
B. Each judicial circuit has been divided 

geographically into several divisions. 
C. There is a circuit court and a district court 

in each judicial circuit. 
1) The Second Judicial Circuit is divided 

into as many divisions as there are 
geographical divisions in the judicial 
circuit to which it belongs. 
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For example, The Second Judicial 
Circuit is divided as follows: 

LOCATION OF 
DIVISIONS COURTHOUSE 

Wailuku Wailuku 
Lahaina Lahaina 
Hana Hana 
Molokai Kaunakakai 
Lanai Lanai City 

D. The court rules provide that a claim must 
be filed: 
1) In the division where the defendant 

resides; 
2) If the defendant does not reside in 

the judicial circuit, then in the division 
where the claim for relief arose, or if 
the claim for relief arose outside of 
the judicial circuit, then in any division 
where the defendant can be found; 

3) If there are defendants residing in 
different divisions, then in the division 
where the claim for relief arose, or if 
the claim for relief arose outside of 
the judicial circuit, then in any division 
where any defendant can be found, 
and 

4) In an action for summary possession, 
in the division in which the premises 
are situated, without regard to the 
defendant’s place of residence. 

WHERE MUST I GO TO HAVE MY 
CIVIL DOCUMENTS PROCESSED? 
All civil documents are filed and processed at 

the Documents Receiving Section on the First 
Floor, Hoapili Hale, 2145 Main Street, Room 
106, Wailuku, Hawaii  96793. 

WHAT DOES IT COST TO FILE A 
REGULAR CLAIMS COMPLAINT AND 
SUMMONS? 
The filing fee is $155.00. (1/1/2014) 
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HOW IS THE DEFENDANT NOTIFIED? 
Service of all process may be made without 

court permission anywhere in the State of 
Hawai‘i by a Civil process agent, or by any 
person who is not a party and is not less than 18 
years. Any other means of service or any service 
outside the State of Hawai‘i requires court 
permission. Alternative means of service is also 
set forth in the rules of court. You should consult 
with an attorney licensed to practice in the State 
of Hawai‘i if you have any questions regarding 
the best alternative in your case. 

HOW DO I KNOW WHEN MY CASE IS 
SET ON THE COURT CALENDAR? 

The person serving your document is 
immediately required to file the Return of 
Service with Court and notify you that service 
has been made. Your court case will appear 
on the court calendar on the specified day in 
compliance with the court summons. 

HOW CAN A PERSON PREPARE A 
COUNTERCLAIM? 

Upon request, the clerk of the court 
will furnish the necessary forms to file a 
counterclaim. You should consult the rules of 
court, or legal counsel, to determine whether 
you must request permission from the court to 
file your counterclaim. 

HOW IS THE PLAINTIFF NOTIFIED OF 
A COUNTERCLAIM? 

The defendant is charged with the 
responsibility of furnishing the plaintiff with 
a copy of the counterclaim. Service can be 
effected via Civil Process Agent, hand-delivery 
by the defendant or mailing a copy to the 
plaintiff. A certificate of service must be filed with 
the court. 
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MAY A PARTY BE REPRESENTED BY 
AN ATTORNEY? 

YES. Either party may be represented by an 
attorney. 

MAY THE PLAINTIFF OR THE 
DEFENDANT HAVE A JURY TRIAL? 

YES. If the amount in controversy exceeds 
$5,000.00 either party may have the case 
transferred directly to the circuit court for jury 
trial. EXCEPTION: Notwithstanding a proper jury 
demand, issues relating to summary possession 
remain exclusively within the jurisdiction of the 
district court. 

WHAT HAPPENS IF THE DEFENDANT 
IS NOT PRESENT AT THE TIME AND 
PLACE SET FOR ANSWER/TRIAL? 

If the defendant has been properly served 
with the summons, the plaintiff may win 
judgment by default, but the judge may require 
the plaintiff to present evidence to prove his/her 
claim. 

WHAT HAPPENS IF THE PLAINTIFF 
IS NOT PRESENT AT THE TIME AND 
PLACE SET FOR ANSWER/TRIAL? 

The plaintiff is not required to be present for 
the answer. If the plaintiff does not appear for 
trial the case may be Dismissed. If the case is 
dismissed with prejudice, the plaintiff cannot 
file a new suit on the same claim. If the case is 
dismissed without prejudice, a new suit on the 
claim may be filed. 

WHAT SHOULD THE PLAINTIFF 
AND THE DEFENDANT DO IN 
PREPARATION FOR HEARING OF 
THE CASE? 

At the hearing, you will be required to present 
the facts of your side of the case in your own 
words. 
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If you have any witnesses who can back up 
your claim, bring them to court. 

A witness may be compelled to attend 
under an order to appear, which is known as 
a subpoena. The party for the order must pay 
witness fees and mileage. 

Bring to court any documents or papers 
that relate to the case to back up your story. 
Documents or any papers you might need 
include: 

l.	 Any written contracts (for example, rental 
agreements, promissory notes, receipts, 
agreements to repair property, etc.); 

2.	 Any letters that might have passed 
between you and the other party. 

3.	 Any bills, paid or unpaid, and cancelled 
checks having to do with the case; 

4.	 Any repair bills or written estimates of 
repair prepared by qualified persons; 

5.	 Photographs of any damaged property. 
Witnesses are very important in any 

case where there is damage to property. If 
your case involves a question of the quality 
of workmanship or the reasonable value of 
materials used and services performed for 
repairing damaged property, an experienced 
and impartial person in the same trade will 
make a good witness. The person who made an 
estimate of the cost of repairs and the person 
who did the repair work on damaged property 
should be brought to court as witnesses for the 
party who wants to recover costs incurred for 
such repairs. 

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE COURT 
DECIDES THE CASE? 

The prevailing party must prepare a written 
judgment and submit it to the court for approval. 
The clerk of the court will furnish you with the 
necessary forms. 

MAY THE LOSING PARTY ASK THE 
COURT TO RECONSIDER THE 
JUDGMENT? 

The losing party may ask the court to alter or 
set aside the judgment within 10 days after filing 
of the judgment. 
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For example, the losing party may wish to 
correct a mistake made in computing the amount 
of the judgment or present new evidence 
discovered after the trial. 

MAY THE LOSING PARTY APPEAL? 
YES. 

ONCE THE JUDGMENT IS FINAL, 
WHAT STEPS MAY BE TAKEN TO 
COLLECT IT? 

There are several remedies governed by 
State and Federal laws and regulations. The 
clerk may provide information on alternatives 
available for collection, however, the court 
cannot act as the collection agency for the 
judgment creditor. If you have any questions 
as to the best means to enforce your judgment 
against the defendant, you should consult a 
licensed attorney for appropriate advice. 

WHAT MUST I DO IF I RECEIVE 
PAYMENT-IN-FULL FROM THE 
DEFENDANT? 

If payment is received prior to a judgment 
being filed, you must file a Notice of Dismissal 
with Prejudice. If payment is received after 
a judgment, you must file a Satisfaction of 
Judgment. The clerk of the court will furnish you 
with the necessary forms. 

IF I HAVE ANY OTHER QUESTIONS 
WHO CAN HELP ME? 

For further information, you may call the 
Service Center at 244-2706. 

NOTE: THE CLERK OF THE 
COURT WILL ASSIST YOU ON ANY 
PROCEDURAL MATTERS. 

The clerk of the court is not empowered to 
assist you on matters of a “legal” nature. Please 
consult with legal counsel on matters pertaining 
to law. 
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