Electronically Filed Supreme Court SCMF-19-0000379 10-MAY-2019 09:29 AM

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF HAWAI'I

In Re HAWAI'I TASK FORCE ON ATTORNEY WELL-BEING

ORDER (By: Recktenwald, C.J.)

In August, 2016, a National Task Force on Lawyer Well-Being was initiated, with representatives from organizations including the ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs, the National Organization of Bar Counsel, and the Association of Professional Responsibility Lawyers. Its mission was to promote nationwide awareness, recognition, and treatment of issues relating to attorney well-being, thereby changing the culture of the legal profession such that impairments are reduced and well-being is increased. In August 2017, that task force issued a report entitled "The Path to Lawyer Well-Being: Practical Recommendations for Positive Change."

NOW, THEREFORE, as a result of the National Task

Force's August 2017 report and the recommendations contained therein,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows:

- 1. A Hawai'i Task Force on Lawyer Well-Being (Hawai'i Task Force) is hereby established, effective upon the filing of this order.
- 2. The purpose of the Hawai'i Task Force is to review the recommendations of the National Task Force on how to address lawyer well-being issues, assess which recommendations can be implemented to address the unique needs of Hawai'i's legal community, and recommend how those proposals can best be implemented.
- 3. The individuals appointed as members of the Hawai'i Task Force are set forth in Appendix A. The Chief Justice may appoint additional members as may be necessary.
- 4. The Hawai'i Task Force shall meet at the discretion of the Co-Chairs.
- 5. On or before June 1, 2021, the Hawai'i Task Force shall submit to the Chief Justice its final report containing its findings and recommendations.

Dated: Honolulu, Hawai'i, May 10, 2019.

/s/ Mark E. Recktenwald
Chief Justice



APPENDIX A

MEMBERS OF THE HAWAI'I TASK FORCE ON LAWYER WELL-BEING

NAME

DESIGNATION

Honorable Sabrina S. McKenna

Louise K.Y. Ing, Esq.

Honorable Leslie E. Kobayashi

Honorable Darolyn Lendio Heim

Honorable Kirstin M. Hamman

Honorable Wendy M. DeWeese

Honorable Kathleen N.A. Watanabe

Derek R. Kobayashi, Esq.

Patricia Mau-Shimizu, Esq.

Summer H.M. Kaiawe, Esq.

Ian L. Sandison, Esq.

Jamie A. Chuck, Esq.

Laura S. Lucas, Esq.

Sherilyn K. Tavares, Esq.

Lauren M. Kennedy, Esq.

William A. Pannell, Esq.

Emiko L.T. Meyers, Esq.

Justin F. Kollar, Esq.

Kirsha K.M. Durante, Esq.

Angela J. Lovitt, Esq.

Liam M. Deeley, Esq.

Bradley R. Tamm, Esq.

Assoc. Prof. Calvin G.C. Pang

Hugh R. Jones, Esq.

Puananionaona P. Thoene, Esq.

Co-Chair

Co-Chair

U.S. Dist. Ct., District of HI

Judge - First Circuit

Judge - Second Circuit

Judge - Third Circuit

Judge - Fifth Circuit

HSBA Board of Directors

HSBA Executive Director

HSBA Young Lawyers' Division

HSBA Senior Counsel Division

HSBA Solo/Small Firm Section

HSBA Large Law Firm

Hawai'i County Bar Association

West Hawai'i Bar Association

Maui County Bar Association

Kaua'i Bar Association

Prosecuting Attorney

Public Defender

Legal Services Organization

Attorneys & Judges Assistance

Program

Office of Disciplinary Counsel

William S. Richardson School of Law

University of Hawai'i Foundation

Task Force Reporter