

Judicial Selection Commission - The Judiciary - State of Hawai'i

417 South King Street, Honolulu, Hawai'i, 96813-2897 Telephone: (808) 538-5200 Fax: (808) 538-5205 JSC website: <u>http://www.courts.state.hi.us/courts/judicial_selection_commission.html</u>

James A. Kawachika, Esq., Chair Jackie Young, PhD, Vice Chair Walter S. Kirimitsu, Esq., Secretary Richard A. Dubanoski, PhD Keith W. Hunter, Mediator Bryan Kageyama Ronette M. Kawakami, Esq. Mike Middlesworth Patricia Kim Park, Esq.

For immediate release: January 12, 2017

JUDICIAL SELECTION COMMISSION PRESS RELEASE CIRCUIT JUDGE, CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIRST CIRCUIT NOMINEES

Under the Constitution of the State of Hawai'i, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: "The governor, with the consent of the senate, shall fill a vacancy in the office of the chief justice, supreme court, intermediate appellate court and circuit courts, by appointing a person from a list of not less than four, and not more than six, nominees for the vacancy, presented to the governor by the judicial selection commission."

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce a list of nominees for the judicial vacancy of Circuit Judge, Circuit Court of the First Circuit (island of O'ahu), State of Hawai'i. The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of Circuit Judge Karen S. S. Ahn in June 2016.

The nominees selected by the Commission for the judicial office in the Circuit Court of the First Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

Todd W. Eddins Jeffrey A. Hawk Darolyn Lendio Heim Keith K. Hiraoka Timothy E. Ho Paul B. K. Wong

The Governor has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.

Statistics:

Total Applicants: 29; 4 Females; 25 Males Government Attorneys: 14 Private Attorneys: 13 Judges: 5 Age Range: 1 (31-40); 7 (41-50); 18 (51-60); 3 (61-70) Years Licensed Range: 10 years to 36 years

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission's mailing list, please send your name and email address to <u>JudSelect.Comm@courts.hawaii.gov</u>.