Electronically Filed Supreme Court SCOT-11-0000356 29-APR-2011 12:08 PM

SCOT-11-0000356

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF HAWAI'I

In the Matter of the

HAWAI'I REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

ORDER (By Recktenwald, C.J., Nakayama, Acoba, Duffy, and McKenna, JJ.)

By letter dated April 21, 2011 Chief Elections Officer Scott T. Nago, for Dylan Nonaka, Temporary Chair, informed this court that the eight certified members of the Hawai'i Reapportionment Commission were unable to timely certify the ninth member and Chair of the Commission. The Court solicited applications from the public on April 21, 2011, and received a total of 18 applications. A list of applicants is attached. Having considered the applicants for the position of Chair, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND CERTIFIED, pursuant to Article IV section 2 of the Hawai'i Constitution that VICTORIA S. MARKS is appointed as the ninth member and Chair of the 2011 Hawai'i Reapportionment Commission.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, April 29, 2011.

/s/ Mark E. Recktenwald
/s/ Paula A. Nakayama
/s/ Simeon R. Acoba, Jr.
/s/ James E. Duffy, Jr.
/s/ Sabrina S. McKenna



2

## APPLICANTS FOR THE NINTH MEMBER AND CHAIR OF THE 2011 HAWAI'I REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

Applications for the position of the ninth member and Chair of the 2011 Hawai'i Reapportionment Commission were received from the following individuals:

- 1. HANALEI Y. AIPOALANI
- 2. RIKI MAY AMANO
- 3. LANCE D. COLLINS
- 4. MICHAEL J. FERGUS
- 5. ROCKNE C. FREITAS
- 6. GREGORY J. GARNEAU
- 7. WILLIAM F. GEORGI
- 8. TIMOTHY E. JOHNS
- 9. ROBERT G. KLEIN
- 10. VICTORIA S. MARKS
- 11. LYNNE MATUSOW
- 12. ABBEY S. MAYER
- 13. LAWRENCE MEACHAM
- 14. THOMAS J. MITRANO
- 15. NIKHILANANDA
- 16. WILLIAM S. PETTI
- 17. RAI SAINT CHU
- 18. DONN TAKAKI