

Judicial Selection Commission - The Judiciary - State of Hawai'i

417 South King Street, Honolulu, Hawai'i, 96813-2897 Telephone: (808) 538-5200 Fax: (808) 538-5205 JSC website: http://www.courts.state.hi.us/courts/judicial selection commission.html

Doris M. Ching, EdD, Chair James J. Bickerton, Esq., Vice Chair Albert Y. Kano, Secretary Phyllis C. Horner, PhD Allan K. Ikawa, CEO James A. Kawachika, Esq. Walter S. Kirimitsu, Esq. Patricia Kim Park, Esq. Jackie Young, PhD

For immediate release: September 12, 2014

JUDICIAL SELECTION COMMISSION PRESS RLEASE DISTRICT COURT OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT NOMINEES

Under the Constitution of the State of Hawai'i, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: "The chief justice, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the judicial selection commission."

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce the nominees for the vacancy in the District Court of the Third Circuit (island of Hawai'i), State of Hawai'i. The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of former District Judge Joseph P. Florendo, Jr.

The nominees for the judicial office in the District Court of the Third Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

Jeffery N. Burleson Wendy M. DeWeese Margaret K. Masunaga Michael H. Schlueter Cynthia T. Tai Kimberly B. M. Taniyama

The Chief Justice has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.

Statistics:

Total Applicants: 12; 5 Females; 7 Males

Government Attorneys: 8 Private Attorneys: 4

Age Range: (31-40) 2; (41-50) 4; (51-60) 5; 61-70) 1

Years Licensed Range: 6 years to 26 years.

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission's mailing list, provide your name and business and send request to <u>JudSelect.Comm@courts.hawaii.gov</u>.