## Judicial Selection Commission - State of Hawai'i

417 South King Street, Honolulu, Hawai'i, 96813 website - http://www.courts.state.hi.us/jsc

For immediate release: May 11, 2012

## PRESS RELEASE: CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE OF THE SECOND CIRCUIT AND HAWAI'I SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE NOMINEES

Under the Constitution of the State of Hawai'i, Article VI, Section 3: "The Governor, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the office of the chief justice, supreme court, intermediate court and circuit courts, by appointing a person from a list of not less than four, and not more than six, nominees for the vacancy, presented to the Governor by the Judicial Selection Commission."

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce two lists of nominees for the judicial positions recently vacated by the mandatory retirement of Circuit Court Judge Shackley F. Raffetto and the impending mandatory retirement of Associate Justice James E. Duffy, Jr.

The nominees for the judicial vacancy of the Associate Justice, Hawai'i Supreme Court are, in alphabetical order:

Derrick H.M. Chan Daniel R. Foley David M. Forman Craig H. Nakamura Richard W. Pollack

Statistics: 3 females and 6 males

The nominees for the judicial vacancy of Circuit Court Judge of the Second Circuit (Mau'i, Moloka'i, and Lana'i) are, in alphabetical order:

Peter T. Cahill Michelle L. Drewyer Kelsey T. Kawano Lloyd A. Poelman Douglas J. Sameshima

Statistics: 2 females and 6 males

Governor Neil Abercrombie has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointments.

To be placed on the Judicial Selection Commission's mailing list, send your request to <u>JudSelect.Comm@courts.state.hi.us</u> and provide your name and business.