Judicial Selection Commission

Press Release Notices & Announcements

Judicial Selection Commission Press Release Circuit Court of the First Circuit Nominees (Release Date:  September 24, 2015)
Judicial Selection Commission Press Release Circuit Court of the Third Circuit Nominees (Release Date:  September 24, 2015)
Judicial Selection Commission Press Release District Court of the First Circuit Nominees (Release Date: September 23, 2015)
Deadline Extended for Applying for Judicial Vacancy - Circuit Court of the Third Circuit (Release Date: August 7, 2015)


Judicial Selection Commission Forms

JSC Archives

JSC Archives

The Judicial Selection Commission reviews and evaluates applications for all judicial vacancies, and vote, by secret ballot, to select qualified nominees. Established by a 1978 state constitutional amendment, the Commission is governed by the Judicial Selection Commission Rules (157 KB PDF file).

The names of the nominees are then forwarded to the appropriate appointing authority. The governor is the appointing authority to nominate judges of the Supreme Court, Intermediate Court of Appeals, and Circuit Court for an initial ten-year term. The governor selects appointees from a list of not less than four and not more than six names submitted by the Judicial Selection Commission. The commission submits a list of at least six names to the chief justice who nominates judges for district and district family court to six-year terms. All nominations are subject to confirmation by the state senate.

The Commission also determines whether a justice or judge shall be retained in office. The Commission publicizes the fact that a justice or judge is seeking retention so that all persons who might have an interest in the matter be informed of the opportunity to comment.

Comments about justices and judges seeking appointment or retention should be submitted to:

Contact Information:

Judicial Selection Commission
417 South King Street
Honolulu, Hawai`i 96813-2902
Telephone: (808) 538-5200
Fax: (808) 538-5205

The Commission is composed of nine members, no more than four of whom may be lawyers. The members, who serve staggered six-year terms, are selected or elected as follows:

Member Term Appointing/Electing Authority
Walter S. Kirimitsu, Secretary
03/25/14 - 04/01/17 House Speaker
Patricia Kim Park 12/13/13 - 04/01/17 Governor
Jackie Young, Vice Chair
02/01/13 - 04/01/17 Senate President
Phyllis C. Horner 04/02/13 - 04/01/19 Chief Justice
James A. Kawachika, Chair
04/02/13 - 04/01/19 Bar
Mike Middlesworth 01/11/15 - 04/01/20 Senate President
Keith W. Hunter 04/09/15 - 04/01/21 Governor
Bryan Kageyama 04/09/15 - 04/01/21 House Speaker
Ronette M. Kawakami 04/09/15 - 04/01/21 Bar
Increase text sizeDecrease text sizePrint this page

© 2008 Hawaii State Judiciary. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Accessibility Information

HIC logo